Annex I

Parties and non-parties to the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances of 1988, by region, as at 1 November 2023

Note: The date on which the instrument of ratification or accession was deposited is indicated in parentheses.

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Conventio
AFRICA	Algeria (9 May 1995)	Eritrea (30 January 2002)	Equatorial Guinea
	Angola (26 October 2005)	Eswatini (8 October 1995)	Somalia
	Benin (23 May 1997)	Ethiopia (11 October 1994)	
	Botswana (13 August 1996)	Gabon (10 July 2006)	
	Burkina Faso (2 June 1992)	Gambia (23 April 1996)	
	Burundi (18 February 1993)	Ghana (10 April 1990)	
	Cabo Verde (8 May 1995)	Guinea (27 December 1990)	
	Cameroon (28 October 1991)	Guinea-Bissau (27 October 1995)	
	Central African Republic (15 October 2001)	Kenya (19 October 1992)	
	Chad (9 June 1995)	Lesotho (28 March 1995)	
	Comoros (1 March 2000)	Liberia (16 September 2005)	
	Congo (3 March 2004)	Libya (22 July 1996)	
	Côte d'Ivoire (25 November 1991)	Madagascar (12 March 1991)	
	Democratic Republic of the Congo (28 October 2005)	Malawi (12 October 1995)	
	Djibouti (22 February 2001)	Mali (31 October 1995)	
	Egypt (15 March 1991)	Mauritania (1 July 1993)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Mauritius (6 March 2001)	Sierra Leone (6 June 1994)	
	Morocco (28 October 1992)	South Africa (14 December 1998)	
	Mozambique (8 June 1998)	South Sudan (20 October 2023)	
	Namibia (6 March 2009)	Sudan (19 November 1993)	
	Niger (10 November 1992)	Togo (1 August 1990)	
	Nigeria (1 November 1989)	Tunisia (20 September 1990)	
	Rwanda (13 May 2002)	Uganda (20 August 1990)	
	Sao Tome and Principe (20 June 1996)	United Republic of Tanzania (17 April 1996)	
	Senegal (27 November 1989)	Zambia (28 May 1993)	
	Seychelles (27 February 1992)	Zimbabwe (30 July 1993)	
Regional total 54	5	2	2
AMERICAS	Antigua and Barbuda (5 April 1993)	Dominica (30 June 1993)	
	Argentina (10 June 1993)	Dominican Republic (21 September 1993)	
	Bahamas (30 January 1989)	Ecuador (23 March 1990)	
	Barbados (15 October 1992)	El Salvador (21 May 1993)	
	Belize (24 July 1996)	Grenada (10 December 1990)	
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of) (20 August 1990)	Guatemala (28 February 1991)	
	Brazil (17 July 1991)	Guyana (19 March 1993)	
	(-, ,, -, -,		
	Canada (5 July 1990)	Haiti (18 September 1995)	
	Canada		
	Canada (5 July 1990) Chile	(18 September 1995) Honduras	
	Canada (5 July 1990) Chile (13 March 1990) Colombia	(18 September 1995) Honduras (11 December 1991) Jamaica	
	Canada (5 July 1990) Chile (13 March 1990) Colombia (10 June 1994) Costa Rica	(18 September 1995) Honduras (11 December 1991) Jamaica (29 December 1995) Mexico	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Panama (13 January 1994)	Suriname (28 October 1992)	
	Paraguay (23 August 1990)	Trinidad and Tobago (17 February 1995)	
	Peru (16 January 1992)	United States of America (20 February 1990)	
	Saint Kitts and Nevis (19 April 1995)	Uruguay (10 March 1995)	
	Saint Lucia (21 August 1995)	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (16 July 1991)	
	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (17 May 1994)		
Regional total 35	- 17		0
ASIA	Afghanistan (14 February 1992)	Israel (20 March 2002)	
	Armenia (13 September 1993)	Japan (12 June 1992)	
	Azerbaijan (22 September 1993)	Jordan (16 April 1990)	
	Bahrain (7 February 1990)	Kazakhstan (29 April 1997)	
	Bangladesh (11 October 1990)	Kuwait (3 November 2000)	
	Bhutan (27 August 1990)	Kyrgyzstan (7 October 1994)	
	Brunei Darussalam (12 November 1993)	Lao People's Democratic Republic (1 October 2004)	
	Cambodia (2 April 2005)	Lebanon (11 March 1996)	
	China (25 October 1989)	Malaysia (11 May 1993)	
	Democratic People's Republic of Korea (19 March 2007)	Maldives (7 September 2000)	
	Georgia (8 January 1998)	Mongolia (25 June 2003)	
	India (27 March 1990)	Myanmar (11 June 1991)	
	Indonesia (23 February 1999)	Nepal (24 July 1991)	
	Iran (Islamic Republic of) (7 December 1992)	Oman (15 March 1991)	
	lraq (22 July 1998)	Pakistan (25 October 1991)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Philippines (7 June 1996)	Thailand (3 May 2002)	
	Qatar (4 May 1990)	Timor-Leste (3 June 2014)	
	Republic of Korea (28 December 1998)	Türkiyeª (2 April 1996)	
	Saudi Arabia (9 January 1992)	Turkmenistan (21 February 1996)	
	Singapore (23 October 1997)	United Arab Emirates (12 April 1990)	
	Sri Lanka (6 June 1991)	Uzbekistan (24 August 1995)	
	State of Palestine (29 December 2017)	Viet Nam (4 November 1997)	
	Syrian Arab Republic (3 September 1991)	Yemen (25 March 1996)	
	Tajikistan (6 May 1996)		
Regional total 47	47		0
EUROPE	Albania (27 July 2001)	France ^b (31 December 1990)	
	Andorra (23 July 1999)	Germany⁵ (30 November 1993)	
	Austria⁵ (11 July 1997)	Greece⁵ (28 January 1992)	
	Belarus (15 October 1990)	Holy See (25 January 2012)	
	Belgium ^ø (25 October 1995)	Hungary ^ь (15 November 1996)	
	Bosnia and Herzegovina (1 September 1993)	lceland (2 September 1997)	
	Bulgaria [,] (24 September 1992)	Ireland ^ø (3 September 1996)	
	Croatia ^b (26 July 1993)	ltaly⁰ (31 December 1990)	
	Cyprus ^b (25 May 1990)	Latvia ^b (25 February 1994)	
	Czechia ^b (30 December 1993)	Liechtenstein (9 March 2007)	
	Denmark⁵ (19 December 1991)	Lithuania ^b (8 June 1998)	
	Estonia ^b (12 July 2000)	Luxembourg ^b (29 April 1992)	

FinlandbMaltab(15 February 1994)(28 February 1996)

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Monaco (23 April 1991)	San Marino (10 October 2000)	
	Montenegro (3 June 2006)	Serbia (3 January 1991)	
	Netherlands (Kingdom of the) ^{b.c} (8 September 1993)	Slovakia [♭] (28 May 1993)	
	North Macedonia (13 October 1993)	Slovenia ^b (6 July 1992)	
	Norway (14 November 1994)	Spain ^ь (13 August 1990)	
	Poland ^b (26 May 1994)	Sweden ^b (22 July 1991)	
	Portugal ^b (3 December 1991)	Switzerland (14 September 2005)	
	Republic of Moldova (15 February 1995)	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ^d (28 June 1991)	
	Romania [♭] (21 January 1993)	Ukraine (28 August 1991)	
	Russian Federation (17 December 1990)	European Union ^e (31 December 1990)	
Regional total 46		46	0
OCEANIA	Australia (16 November 1992)	New Zealand (16 December 1998)	Kiribati
	Cook Islands (22 February 2005)	Niue (16 July 2012)	Papua New Guinea
	Fiji (25 March 1993)	Palau (14 August 2019)	Solomon Islands
	Marshall Islands (5 November 2010)	Samoa (19 August 2005)	Tuvalu
	Micronesia (Federated States of) (6 July 2004)	Tonga (29 April 1996)	
	Nauru (12 July 2012)	Vanuatu (26 January 2006)	
Regional total 16	12		4
World total 198		192	6

^{*a*}Since 31 May 2022, "Türkiye" has replaced "Turkey" as the short name used in the United Nations.

^bState member of the European Union.

'Since 3 March 2023, "Netherlands (Kingdom of the)" has replaced "Netherlands (the)" as the short name used in the United Nations.

^{*d*}The United Kingdom ceased to be a member of the European Union on 31 January 2020.

^eExtent of competence: article 12.