## Annex I

## Parties and non-parties to the 1988 Convention, by region, as at 1 November 2014

*Note*: The date on which the instrument of ratification or accession was deposited is indicated in parentheses.

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention	
Africa	Algeria	Eritrea	Equatorial Guinea	
	(9 May 1995)	(30 January 2002)		
			Somalia	
	Angola	Ethiopia		
	(26 October 2005)	(11 October 1994)	South Sudan	
	Benin	Gabon		
	(23 May 1997)	(10 July 2006)		
	Botswana	Gambia		
	(13 August 1996)	(23 April 1996)		
	(10 August 1990)	(23 April 1330)		
	Burkina Faso	Ghana		
	(2 June 1992)	(10 April 1990)		
	Burundi	Guinea		
	(18 February 1993)	(27 December 1990)		
	Cabo Verde	Guinea-Bissau		
	(8 May 1995)	(27 October 1995)		
	Cameroon	Kenya		
	(28 October 1991)	(19 October 1992)		
	Control African Danublia	Lasatha		
	Central African Republic	Lesotho		
	(15 October 2001)	(28 March 1995)		
	Chad	Liberia		
	(9 June 1995)	(16 September 2005)		
	Comoros	Libya		
	(1 March 2000)	(22 July 1996)		
	Congo	Madagascar		
	(3 March 2004)	(12 March 1991)		
	Côte d'Ivoire	Malawi		
	(25 November 1991)	(12 October 1995)		
	Democratic Republic	Mali		
	of the Congo	(31 October 1995)		
	(28 October 2005)	· · · ·		
	Djibouti	Mauritania		
	(22 February 2001)	(1 July 1993)		
	Egypt	Mauritius		
	(15 March 1991)	(6 March 2001)		

## PRECURSORS

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Morocco	South Africa	
	(28 October 1992)	(14 December 1998)	
	Mozambique	Sudan	
	(8 June 1998)	(19 November 1993)	
	Namibia	Swaziland	
	(6 March 2009)	(8 October 1995)	
	Niger	Togo	
	(10 November 1992)	(1 August 1990)	
	Nigeria	Tunisia	
	(1 November 1989)	(20 September 1990)	
	Rwanda	Uganda	
	(13 May 2002)	(20 August 1990)	
	Sao Tome and Principe	United Republic of	
	(20 June 1996)	Tanzania	
		(17 April 1996)	
	Senegal	Zambia	
	(27 November 1989)	(28 May 1993)	
	Seychelles	Zimbabwe	
	(27 February 1992)	(30 July 1993)	
	Sierra Leone		
	(6 June 1994)		
Regional total		F4	
54 Americas	Antigua and Barbuda	51 Chile	3
Americas	(5 April 1993)	(13 March 1990)	

## Argentina (10 June 1993)

Bahamas (30 January 1989)

Barbados (15 October 1992)

Belize (24 July 1996)

Bolivia (Plurinational State of) (20 August 1990)

Brazil (17 July 1991)

Canada (5 July 1990) Colombia (10 June 1994)

Costa Rica (8 February 1991)

Cuba (12 June 1996)

Dominica (30 June 1993)

Dominican Republic (21 September 1993)

Ecuador (23 March 1990)

El Salvador (21 May 1993)

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Grenada	Peru	
	(10 December 1990)	(16 January 1992)	
	Guatemala	Saint Kitts and Nevis	
	(28 February 1991)	(19 April 1995)	
	Guyana	Saint Lucia	
	(19 March 1993)	(21 August 1995)	
	Haiti	Saint Vincent and the	
	(18 September 1995)	Grenadines	
		(17 May 1994)	
	Honduras	Suriname	
	(11 December 1991)	(28 October 1992)	
	Jamaica	Trinidad and Tobago	
	(29 December 1995)	(17 February 1995)	
	Mexico	United States of America	
	(11 April 1990)	(20 February 1990)	
	Nicaragua	Uruguay	
	(4 May 1990)	(10 March 1995)	
	Panama	Venezuela (Bolivarian	
	(13 January 1994)	Republic of)	
		(16 July 1991)	
	Paraguay		

Regional total				
35		35	0	
Asia	Afghanistan	China	State of Palestine	
	(14 February 1992)	(25 October 1989)		
	Armenia	Democratic People's		
	(13 September 1993)	Republic of Korea		
		(19 March 2007)		
	Azerbaijan	Georgia		
	(22 September 1993)	(8 January 1998)		
	Bahrain	India		
	(7 February 1990)	(27 March 1990)		
	Bangladesh	Indonesia		
	(11 October 1990)	(23 February 1999)		
	Bhutan	Iran (Islamic Republic of)		
	(27 August 1990)	(7 December 1992)		
	Brunei Darussalam	Iraq		
	(12 November 1993)	(22 July 1998)		
	Cambodia	Israel		
	(2 April 2005)	(20 March 2002)		

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention	
	Japan	Qatar		
	(12 June 1992)	(4 May 1990)		
	lordon	Popublic of Karaa		
	Jordan (16 April 1990)	Republic of Korea (28 December 1998)		
	Kazakhstan (20 April 1997)	Saudi Arabia		
	(29 April 1997)	(9 January 1992)		
	Kuwait	Singapore		
	(3 November 2000)	(23 October 1997)		
	Kyrgyzstan	Sri Lanka		
	(7 October 1994)	(6 June 1991)		
	Lao People's	Syrian Arab Republic		
	Democratic Republic	(3 September 1991)		
	(1 October 2004)			
	Lebanon	Tajikistan (6 May 1996)		
	(11 March 1996)	(0 May 1990)		
	Malaysia	Thailand		
	(11 May 1993)	(3 May 2002)		
	Maldina -	Timon Loota		
	Maldives (7 September 2000)	Timor-Leste (3 June 2014)		
	(7 00010111001 2000)			
	Mongolia	Turkey		
	(25 June 2003)	(2 April 1996)		
	Myanmar	Turkmenistan		
	, (11 June 1991)	(21 February 1996)		
	Nepal	United Arab Emirates		
	(24 July 1991)	(12 April 1990)		
	Oman	Uzbekistan		
	(15 March 1991)	(24 August 1995)		
	Pakistan	Viet Nam		
	(25 October 1991)	(4 November 1997)		
	Philippines	Yemen		
	(7 June 1996)	(25 March 1996)		
Regional total				
47		46	1	
Europe	Albania	Belgiumª		
	(27 July 2001)	(25 October 1995)		
	Andorra	Bosnia and Herzegovina		
	(23 July 1999)	(1 September 1993)		
	Austria <sup>a</sup>	Bulgariaª (24 Sentember 1993)		
	(11 July 1997)	(24 September 1992)		
	Belarus	Croatiaª		

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Cyprusª	Monaco	
	(25 May 1990)	(23 April 1991)	
	Czech Republic⁵	Montenegro	
	(30 December 1993)	(3 June 2006)	
	Denmark <sup>a</sup> (19 December 1991)	Netherlands <sup>a</sup> (8 September 1993)	
	(19 December 1991)	(o September 1993)	
	Estoniaª	Norway	
	(12 July 2000)	(14 November 1994)	
	Finland <sup>a</sup>	Poland <sup>a</sup>	
	(15 February 1994)	(26 May 1994)	
	-	<b>D</b>	
	France <sup>a</sup> (31 December 1990)	Portugalª (3 December 1991)	
	Germanyª	Republic of Moldova	
	(30 November 1993)	(15 February 1995)	
	Greeceª	Romaniaª	
	(28 January 1992)	(21 January 1993)	
	Holy See (25 January 2012)	Russian Federation (17 December 1990)	
	Hungary <sup>a</sup>	San Marino	
	(15 November 1996)	(10 October 2000)	
	Iceland	Serbia	
	(2 September 1997)	(3 January 1991)	
	Ireland <sup>a</sup>	Slovakia <sup>b</sup>	
	(3 September 1996)	(28 May 1993)	
	Italy <sup>a</sup>	Slovenia <sup>a</sup>	
	(31 December 1990)	(6 July 1992)	
	Latviaª	Spainª	
	(25 February 1994)	(13 August 1990)	
	Liechtenstein	Sweden <sup>a</sup>	
	(9 March 2007)	(22 July 1991)	
	1'(1 ' 2		
	Lithuaniaª (8 June 1998)	Switzerland (14 September 2005)	
	Luxembourg <sup>a</sup>	The former Yugoslav	
	(29 April 1992)	Republic of Macedonia	
		(13 October 1993)	
	Maltaª	Ukraine	
	(28 February 1996)	(28 August 1991)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention	
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland <sup>a</sup> (28 June 1991)	European Union <sup>b</sup> (31 December 1990)		
Regional total <b>46</b>		46	0	
40 Oceania	Australia	New Zealand	 Kiribati	
occania	(16 November 1992)	(16 December 1998)	Kinbati	
			Palau	
	Cook Islands	Niue		
	(22 February 2005)	(16 July 2012)	Papua New Guinea	
	Fiji	Samoa	Solomon Islands	
	(25 March 1993)	(19 August 2005)		
			Tuvalu	
	Marshall Islands	Tonga		
	(5 November 2010)	(29 April 1996)		
	Micronesia	Vanuatu		
	(Federated States of) (6 July 2004)	(26 January 2006)		
	Nauru			
	(12 July 2012)			
Regional total				
16		11	5	
World total				
198		189	9	

<sup>a</sup> State member of the European Union.

<sup>b</sup> Extent of competence: article 12.