Annex I

Parties and non-parties to the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances of 1988, by region, as at 1 November 2017

Note: The date on which the instrument of ratification or accession was deposited is indicated in parentheses.

Region Africa	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Algeria (9 May 1995)	Eritrea (30 January 2002)	Equatorial Guinea
	Angola (26 October 2005)	Ethiopia (11 October 1994)	Somalia
	Benin (23 May 1997)	Gabon (10 July 2006)	South Sudan
	Botswana (13 August 1996)	Gambia (23 April 1996)	
	Burkina Faso (2 June 1992)	Ghana (10 April 1990)	
	Burundi (18 February 1993)	Guinea (27 December 1990)	
	Cabo Verde (8 May 1995)	Guinea-Bissau (27 October 1995)	
	Cameroon (28 October 1991)	Kenya (19 October 1992)	
	Central African Republic (15 October 2001)	Lesotho (28 March 1995)	
	Chad (9 June 1995)	Liberia (16 September 2005)	
	Comoros (1 March 2000)	Libya (22 July 1996)	
	Congo (3 March 2004)	Madagascar (12 March 1991)	
	Côte d'Ivoire (25 November 1991)	Malawi (12 October 1995)	
	Democratic Republic of the Congo (28 October 2005)	Mali (31 October 1995)	
	Djibouti (22 February 2001)	Mauritania (1 July 1993)	
	Egypt (15 March 1991)	Mauritius (6 March 2001)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Morocco (28 October 1992)	South Africa (14 December 1998)	
	Mozambique (8 June 1998)	Sudan (19 November 1993)	
	Namibia (6 March 2009)	Swaziland (8 October 1995)	
	Niger (10 November 1992)	Togo (1 August 1990)	
	Nigeria (1 November 1989)	Tunisia (20 September 1990)	
	Rwanda (13 May 2002)	Uganda (20 August 1990)	
	Sao Tome and Principe (20 June 1996)	United Republic of Tanzania (17 April 1996)	
	Senegal (27 November 1989)	Zambia (28 May 1993)	
	Seychelles (27 February 1992)	Zimbabwe (30 July 1993)	
	Sierra Leone (6 June 1994)		
Regional total 54		51	3
Americas	Antigua and Barbuda (5 April 1993)	Chile (13 March 1990)	
	Argentina (10 June 1993)	Colombia (10 June 1994)	
	Bahamas (30 January 1989)	Costa Rica (8 February 1991)	
	Barbados (15 October 1992)	Cuba (12 June 1996)	
	Belize (24 July 1996)	Dominica (30 June 1993)	
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of) (20 August 1990)	Dominican Republic (21 September 1993)	
	Brazil (17 July 1991)	Ecuador (23 March 1990)	
	Canada (5 July 1990)	El Salvador (21 May 1993)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Grenada (10 December 1990)	Peru (16 January 1992)	
	Guatemala (28 February 1991)	Saint Kitts and Nevis (19 April 1995)	
	Guyana (19 March 1993)	Saint Lucia (21 August 1995)	
	Haiti (18 September 1995)	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (17 May 1994)	
	Honduras (11 December 1991)	Suriname (28 October 1992)	
	Jamaica (29 December 1995)	Trinidad and Tobago (17 February 1995)	
	Mexico (11 April 1990)	United States of America (20 February 1990)	
	Nicaragua (4 May 1990)	Uruguay (10 March 1995)	
	Panama (13 January 1994)	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (16 July 1991)	
	Paraguay (23 August 1990)		
Regional total 35		35	0
Asia	Afghanistan (14 February 1992)	Cambodia (2 April 2005)	State of Palestine
	Armenia (13 September 1993)	China (25 October 1989)	
	Azerbaijan (22 September 1993)	Democratic People's Republic of Korea (19 March 2007)	
	Bahrain (7 February 1990)	Georgia (8 January 1998)	
	Bangladesh (11 October 1990)	India (27 March 1990)	
	Bhutan (27 August 1990)	Indonesia (23 February 1999)	
	Brunei Darussalam (12 November 1993)	Iran (Islamic Republic of) (7 December 1992)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Iraq (22 July 1998)	Philippines (7 June 1996)	
	Israel (20 March 2002)	Qatar (4 May 1990)	
	Japan (12 June 1992)	Republic of Korea (28 December 1998)	
	Jordan (16 April 1990)	Saudi Arabia (9 January 1992)	
	Kazakhstan (29 April 1997)	Singapore (23 October 1997)	
	Kuwait (3 November 2000)	Sri Lanka (6 June 1991)	
	Kyrgyzstan (7 October 1994)	Syrian Arab Republic (3 September 1991)	
	Lao People's Democratic Republic (1 October 2004)	Tajikistan (6 May 1996)	
	Lebanon (11 March 1996)	Thailand (3 May 2002)	
	Malaysia (11 May 1993)	Timor-Leste (3 June 2014)	
	Maldives (7 September 2000)	Turkey (2 April 1996)	
	Mongolia (25 June 2003)	Turkmenistan (21 February 1996)	
	Myanmar (11 June 1991)	United Arab Emirates (12 April 1990)	
	Nepal (24 July 1991)	Uzbekistan (24 August 1995)	
	Oman (15 March 1991)	Viet Nam (4 November 1997)	
	Pakistan (25 October 1991)	Yemen (25 March 1996)	
Regional total 47		46	1
Europe	Albania (27 July 2001)	Austriaª (11 July 1997)	
	Andorra (23 July 1999)	Belarus (15 October 1990)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention	
	Belgium ^a (25 October 1995)	Luxembourg ^a (29 April 1992)		
	Bosnia and Herzegovina (1 September 1993)	Malta ^a (28 February 1996)		
	Bulgariaª (24 September 1992)	Monaco (23 April 1991)		
	Croatiaª (26 July 1993)	Montenegro (3 June 2006)		
	Cyprus ^a (25 May 1990)	Netherlands ^a (8 September 1993)		
	Czechia ^{a,b} (30 December 1993)	Norway (14 November 1994)		
	Denmark ^a (19 December 1991)	Poland ^a (26 May 1994)		
	Estonia ^a (12 July 2000)	Portugal ^a (3 December 1991)		
	Finland ^a (15 February 1994)	Republic of Moldova (15 February 1995)		
	France ^a (31 December 1990)	Romania ^a (21 January 1993)		
	Germany ^a (30 November 1993)	Russian Federation (17 December 1990)		
	Greece ^a (28 January 1992)	San Marino (10 October 2000)		
	Holy See (25 January 2012)	Serbia (3 January 1991)		
	Hungary ^a (15 November 1996)	Slovakia ^a (28 May 1993)		
	Iceland (2 September 1997)	Slovenia ^a (6 July 1992)		
	Ireland ^a (3 September 1996)	Spain ^a (13 August 1990)		
	Italy ^a (31 December 1990)	Sweden ^a (22 July 1991)		
	Latviaª (25 February 1994)	Switzerland (14 September 2005)		
	Liechtenstein (9 March 2007)	The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (13 October 1993)		
	Lithuania ^a (8 June 1998)	Ukraine (28 August 1991)		

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ^a (28 June 1991)	European Union ^o (31 December 1990)	
Regional total		46	0
Oceania	Australia (16 November 1992)	New Zealand (16 December 1998)	Kiribati
	Cook Islands (22 February 2005)	Niue (16 July 2012)	Palau
	Fiji (25 March 1993)	Samoa (19 August 2005)	Papua New Guinea
	Marshall Islands (5 November 2010)	Tonga (29 April 1996)	Soloman Islands
	Micronesia (Federated States of) (6 July 2004)	Vanuatu (26 January 2006)	Tuvalu
	Nauru (12 July 2012)		
Regional total		11	5
World total 198		189	9

^a State member of the European Union.

^b Since 17 May 2016, "Czechia" has replaced "Czech Republic" as the short name used in the United Nations.

 $^{^{\}circ}$ Extent of competence: article 12.