## Annex I

## Parties and non-parties to the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances of 1988, by region, as at 1 November 2020

*Note*: The date on which the instrument of ratification or accession was deposited is indicated in parentheses.

AFRICA Algeria Gabon (9 May 1995) (10 July 2006)  Angola Gambia (26 October 2005) (23 April 1996)  Benin Ghana (23 May 1997) (10 April 1990)	Equatorial Guinea  Somalia  South Sudan
(26 October 2005)       (23 April 1996)         Benin       Ghana	
	South Sudan
Botswana Guinea (13 August 1996) (27 December 1990)	
Burkina Faso Guinea-Bissau (2 June 1992) (27 October 1995)	
Burundi Kenya (18 February 1993) (19 October 1992)	
Cabo Verde Lesotho (8 May 1995) (28 March 1995)	
Cameroon Liberia (28 October 1991) (16 September 2005)	
Central African Republic Libya (15 October 2001) (22 July 1996)	
Chad Madagascar (9 June 1995) (12 March 1991)	
Comoros Malawi (1 March 2000) (12 October 1995)	
Congo Mali (3 March 2004) (31 October 1995)	
Côte d'Ivoire Mauritania (25 November 1991) (1 July 1993)	
Democratic Republic of the Mauritius Congo (28 October 2005) (6 March 2001)	
Djibouti Morocco (22 February 2001) (28 October 1992)	
Egypt Mozambique (15 March 1991) (8 June 1998)	
Eritrea Namibia (30 January 2002) (6 March 2009)	
Eswatini Niger (8 October 1995) (10 November 1992)	
Ethiopia Nigeria (11 October 1994) (1 November 1989)	

Region	Party to the 19	988 Convention	Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Rwanda (13 May 2002)	Togo (1 August 1990)	
	Sao Tome and Principe (20 June 1996)	Tunisia (20 September 1990)	
	Senegal (27 November 1989)	Uganda (20 August 1990)	
	Seychelles (27 February 1992)	United Republic of Tanzania (17 April 1996)	
	Sierra Leone (6 June 1994)	Zambia (28 May 1993)	
	South Africa (14 December 1998)	Zimbabwe (30 July 1993)	
	Sudan (19 November 1993)		
Regional total 54			3
AMERICAS	Antigua and Barbuda (5 April 1993)	Guatemala (28 February 1991)	
	Argentina (10 June 1993)	Guyana (19 March 1993)	
	Bahamas (30 January 1989)	Haiti (18 September 1995)	
	Barbados (15 October 1992)	Honduras (11 December 1991)	
	Belize (24 July 1996)	Jamaica (29 December 1995)	
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of) (20 August 1990)	Mexico (11 April 1990)	
	Brazil (17 July 1991)	Nicaragua (4 May 1990)	
	Canada (5 July 1990)	Panama (13 January 1994)	
	Chile (13 March 1990)	Paraguay (23 August 1990)	
	Colombia (10 June 1994)	Peru (16 January 1992)	
	Costa Rica (8 February 1991)	Saint Kitts and Nevis (19 April 1995)	
	Cuba (12 June 1996)	Saint Lucia (21 August 1995)	
	Dominica (30 June 1993)	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (17 May 1994)	
	Dominican Republic (21 September 1993)	Suriname (28 October 1992)	
	Ecuador (23 March 1990)	Trinidad and Tobago (17 February 1995)	
	El Salvador (21 May 1993)	United States of America (20 February 1990)	
	Grenada (10 December 1990)	Uruguay (10 March 1995)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (16 July 1991)		
Regional total 35	35		0
ASIA	Afghanistan (14 February 1992)	Lebanon (11 March 1996)	
	Armenia (13 September 1993)	Malaysia (11 May 1993)	
	Azerbaijan (22 September 1993)	Maldives (7 September 2000)	
	Bahrain (7 February 1990)	Mongolia (25 June 2003)	
	Bangladesh (11 October 1990)	Myanmar (11 June 1991)	
	Bhutan (27 August 1990)	Nepal (24 July 1991)	
	Brunei Darussalam (12 November 1993)	Oman (15 March 1991)	
	Cambodia (2 April 2005)	Pakistan (25 October 1991)	
	China (25 October 1989)	Philippines (7 June 1996)	
	Democratic People's Republic of Korea (19 March 2007)	Qatar (4 May 1990)	
	Georgia (8 January 1998)	Republic of Korea (28 December 1998)	
	India (27 March 1990)	Saudi Arabia (9 January 1992)	
	Indonesia (23 February 1999)	Singapore (23 October 1997)	
	Iran (Islamic Republic of) (7 December 1992)	Sri Lanka (6 June 1991)	
	Iraq (22 July 1998)	State of Palestine (29 December 2017)	
	Israel (20 March 2002)	Syrian Arab Republic (3 September 1991)	
	Japan (12 June 1992)	Tajikistan (6 May 1996)	
	Jordan (16 April 1990)	Thailand (3 May 2002)	
	Kazakhstan (29 April 1997)	Timor-Leste (3 June 2014)	
	Kuwait (3 November 2000)	Turkey (2 April 1996)	
	Kyrgyzstan (7 October 1994)	Turkmenistan (21 February 1996)	
	Lao People's Democratic Republic (1 October 2004)	United Arab Emirates (12 April 1990)	

Region	Party to the	1988 Convention	Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Uzbekistan (24 August 1995) Viet Nam (4 November 1997)	Yemen (25 March 1996)	
Regional total 47		47	0
EUROPE	Albania (27 July 2001)	Liechtenstein (9 March 2007)	
	Andorra (23 July 1999)	Lithuania <sup>a</sup> (8 June 1998)	
	Austria <sup>a</sup> (11 July 1997)	Luxembourg <sup>a</sup> (29 April 1992)	
	Belarus (15 October 1990)	Malta <sup>a</sup> (28 February 1996)	
	Belgium <sup>a</sup> (25 October 1995)	Monaco (23 April 1991)	
	Bosnia and Herzegovina (1 September 1993)	Montenegro (3 June 2006)	
	Bulgaria <sup>a</sup> (24 September 1992)	Netherlands <sup>a</sup> (8 September 1993)	
	Croatia <sup>a</sup> (26 July 1993)	North Macedonia (13 October 1993)	
	Cyprus <sup>a</sup> (25 May 1990)	Norway (14 November 1994)	
	Czechia <sup>a</sup> (30 December 1993)	Poland <sup>a</sup> (26 May 1994)	
	Denmark <sup>a</sup> (19 December 1991)	Portugal <sup>a</sup> (3 December 1991)	
	Estonia <sup>a</sup> (12 July 2000)	Republic of Moldova (15 February 1995)	
	Finland <sup>a</sup> (15 February 1994)	Romania <sup>a</sup> (21 January 1993)	
	France <sup>a</sup> (31 December 1990)	Russian Federation (17 December 1990)	
	Germany <sup>a</sup> (30 November 1993)	San Marino (10 October 2000)	
	Greece <sup>a</sup> (28 January 1992)	Serbia (3 January 1991)	
	Holy See (25 January 2012)	Slovakia <sup>a</sup> (28 May 1993)	
	Hungary <sup>a</sup> (15 November 1996)	Slovenia <sup>a</sup> (6 July 1992)	
	Iceland (2 September 1997)	Spain <sup>a</sup> (13 August 1990)	
	Ireland <sup>a</sup> (3 September 1996)	Sweden <sup>a</sup> (22 July 1991)	
	Italy <sup>a</sup> (31 December 1990)	Switzerland (14 September 2005)	
	Latvia <sup>a</sup> (25 February 1994)	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland <sup>b</sup> (28 June 1991)	

Region	Party to the 1988 Convention		Non-party to the 1988 Convention
	Ukraine (28 August 1991)	European Union <sup>c</sup> (31 December 1990)	
Regional total 46	46		0
OCEANIA	Australia (16 November 1992)	New Zealand (16 December 1998)	Kiribati
	Cook Islands (22 February 2005)	Niue (16 July 2012)	Papua New Guinea
	Fiji (25 March 1993)	Palau (14 August 2019)	Solomon Islands
	Marshall Islands (5 November 2010)	Samoa (19 August 2005)	Tuvalu
	Micronesia (Federated States of) (6 July 2004)	Tonga (29 April 1996)	
	Nauru (12 July 2012)	Vanuatu (26 January 2006)	
Regional total 16	12		4
World total 198	191		7

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> State member of the European Union.
 <sup>b</sup> The United Kingdom has left the European Union and is in a transition period until the end of 2020.
 <sup>c</sup> Extent of competence: article 12.